By David Marlatt
Item: 81-STR1226
UPC: 685462019359
ISBN 10: 1554739349
ISBN 13: 9781554739349
PRICE: $50.00
Series: Eighth Note Publications
Category: String Orchestra
Format: Conductor Score & Parts
Instrument: String Orchestra
Level: 3
Windscape is in four sections. It opens with "The Winds from the North." The driving bass line combined with the punctuated shots represent the bitter winds that blow into Ontario in the winter time. This moves into "The Winds of Change." This has a shifty but steady pulse that features melody in the violins at first, and then a counter melody is added the viola. Crystal glasses and a lone viola are the featured sonorities in "The Winds of Mystery." "The Winds of Change" then reappears and, with several sidebar introductions of new rhythmic and melodic material, the piece ends as it should---driving and enthusiastic.