South Dakota Scenery
By Wynn-Anne Rossi
Item: 00-42445
UPC: 038081474724
ISBN 10: 1470611147
ISBN 13: 9781470611149
PRICE: $4.50
Series: Recital Suite Series
Category: Piano Suite
Format: Sheet
Instrument: Piano
Level: Intermediate
Four unique aspects of South Dakota are highlighted in this suite. The first movement, Sacred Black Hills, has an irregular 5/4 meter and pays tribute to the hills that were sacred to the Native Americans. In the second movement, Buffalo Bebop, the mighty buffalo is portrayed through the lumbering jazz bass line and playful right-hand melody. Jewel Cave, the third movement, uses colorful harmonies and sparkling runs to depict the gorgeous jewels lining the walls of this beautiful cave. The final movement, Badland Thunderstorm, features minor tonalities and a running bass line to warn of the dangerous thunderstorms in the infamous Badlands.
Sacred Black Hills
Buffalo Bebop
Jewel Cave
Badlands Thunderstorm