Echoes of the Homeland
By David Marlatt
Item: 81-BQ25207
ISBN 10: 155472306X
ISBN 13: 9781554723065
PRICE: $15.00
Series: Eighth Note Publications
Category: Brass Ensemble - Quintet
Format: Score & Parts
Instrument: Brass Quintet
Instrumentation: Brass Quintet
Level: Medium
This is a musical journey following a young family escaping invasion by another nation. Leaving everything behind, they must flee from their beloved homeland to a new place and a new beginning. They encounter danger of being captured by their oppressors as well as enduring the pain of leaving family, friends and all possessions behind. Unsure of the road ahead, the family forges on, confident in their decision to find a better life in far away lands. All they have with them is their culture, courage and hope that this new place will greet them and provide a new home. This music contains simple lines and hollow harmonies and is an ideal contrast on a concert or recital. The use of 2 flugel horns aids in the uniformity of sound within the ensemble.