A Night at the Symphony
Stories of Great Orchestral Works with Early Intermediate to Intermediate Piano Arrangements
Arr. Carol Matz and Bernadine Johnson
Item: 00-25609
UPC: 038081275666
ISBN 10: 073904107X
ISBN 13: 9780739041079
PRICE: $8.95
Series: Learning Link
Category: Piano Collection
Format: Book
Instrument: Piano
Level: Early Intermediate / Intermediate
A Night at the Symphony takes piano students on a fascinating journey into the exciting world of orchestral music. Along with early-intermediate to intermediate piano arrangements of favorite orchestral themes, it includes instructions for organizing a symphony-themed recital, information on the basics of the orchestra, an explanation of symphonic terms, highlights of orchestral history and more. Seven timeless orchestral pieces are explored. The unit on each piece includes: a piano arrangement by Carol Matz, interesting background information on the composition and its form, a biography of the composer, and a fun activity page by Bernadine Johnson. 56 pages.

Unit titles and arrangements: Spring (from The Four Seasons) * Eine Kleine Nachtmusik * "Surprise" Symphony * Symphony No. 5 * Morning Mood (from Peer Gynt Suite) * 1812 Overture * Rhapsody in Blue.
Spring (from "The Four Seasons")
Eine Kleine Nachtmusik
"Surprise" Symphony
Symphony No. 5
Morning Mood (from "Peer Gynt Suite")
1812 Overture
Rhapsody in Blue